Committees for Change Highlight 2014 Initiatives for Hartford’s Camp Courant

120th Anniversary and Strategic Planning Committee Established

2014 will be an important time in the 120th year of the oldest and largest FREE summer program currently in the United States. As part of a continuing initiative to develop and expand, Hartford’s Camp Courant has established two separate committees designed specifically to promote the children’s organization on a variety of levels. 2014 marks the 120th Anniversary of Camp and a committee under the guidance of Chairman Jay Arcata (HCC BOD, Halloran & Sage) will oversee the yearlong celebration. The 120th Committee will review all marketing and branding aspects of Camp, a diverse docket of special events, unique employee engagement platforms for potential sponsors, and end the fiscal year with the highly anticipated Buddy Bash 2014 celebration. On a larger scale, Camp has established a Strategic Planning Committee led by Chairman Julio Concepcion (HCC BOD, MetroHartford Alliance). This group of devoted committee members will lock down a three year plan for Camp to ensure its long term sustainability. Priority items include a complete evaluation and overhaul of Camp season programs, long term capital needs and planning, development initiatives, and the expansion of Camp back to its original format of eight weeks and a daily total of 750 campers. An outside consultant will take part in this process, with a completion date scheduled for the end of September, 2014. The Board of Directors and Administrative team at Hartford’s Camp Courant are very proud of the diverse individuals who make up each of these important sub-committees, and they will work towards a goal of continuing to provide a life changing experience for Hartford’s children for many years to come.


120th Anniversary Committee

Jay Arcata – Halloran & Sage (CHAIR)

Richard Brown – MetroHartford Alliance

Julie Daly Meehan – HYPE

Jennifer Lueck – Travelers

Mark Lukas – CT1 Media

Kathy Murphy – Public Defenders Office

Jason Ruimerman – RBC Wealth Management

Scott Sebastian  - MassMutual

Rachael Succo – ALD Vacuum Technologies


Strategic Planning Committee

Julio Concepcion – MetroHartford Alliance (CHAIR)

Jay Arcata – Halloran & Sage

Mark Berardi – CT Association of Non-Profits

Nancy Fitzgibbon - The Hartford Financial Services

Harry Im – United Technologies

Charlie Lenore – Day Pitney

Jennifer Lueck – Travelers

Hector Rivera – Our Piece of the Piece




No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment